List Of All Universities In Nigeria

This is a list of universities in Nigeria. Nigeria is organised into 36 states and a federal capital territory (FCT) in Abuja. The federal government and the state governments were previously the only bodies licensed to operate ScholarsJoint universities. Recently, licenses have been granted to individuals, corporate bodies and religious bodies to establish private universities in the country.

The National Universities Commission (NUC) is the major accreditation and regulatory body that enforces uniform standard and sets admissions capacity of every university in Nigeria.


State Abbreviation Location Funding


Abia State University Abia ABSU Uturu State 1981
Joseph Ayo Babalola University Osun JABU Ikeji-Arakeji Private 2006
Redeemer’s University Nigeria Osun RUN EDE Private 2005
Afe Babalola University Ekiti ABUAD Ado-Ekiti Private 2009
Akwa Ibom State University (formerly Akwa Ibom State University of Science and Technology) Akwa Ibom AKSU Uyo State 2010
American University of Nigeria Adamawa AUN Yola Private 2005
Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Bauchi ATBU Bauchi Federal 1980
Adamawa State University Adamawa ADSU Mubi State 2002
Achievers University Ondo AC Owo Private 2007
Ahmadu Bello University Kaduna ABU Zaria Federal 1962
Al-Hikmah University Kwara AHU Ilorin Private 2005
Ambrose Alli University Edo AAU Ekpoma State 1981
Anambra State University formerly Anambra State University Of Science And Technology Anambra ANSU Uli State 2000
Ajayi Crowther University Oyo ACU Oyo Private 1853
Bayero University Kano BUK Kano Federal 1977
Babcock University Ogun BU Ilishan-Remo Private 1959
Bells University of Technology Ogun BUT Ota Private 2004
Benson Idahosa University Edo BIU Benin City Private 2002
Benue State University Benue BSU Makurdi State 1992
ECWA Bingham University Nassarawa BU New Karu Private 2005
Bowen University Osun BU Iwo Private 2002
Bukar Abba Ibrahim University Yobe YSU Damaturu State 2006
CETEP City University Lagos CU Lagos Private 2005
Caleb University Lagos CUl Ikorodu Private 2008
Caritas University Enugu CU Enugu Private 2004
City University Lagos CU Yaba Private
National Open University of Nigeria Lagos NOUN Victoria Island Federal 1983
City University of Technology Kaduna CUT Kaduna Private 1956
Covenant University Ogun CU Ota Private 2002
Crawford University Ogun CU Faith City, Igbesa Private 2005
Crawford University Ekiti CU Oye-Ekiti Campus Private 2005
Crescent University Ogun CU Abeokuta Private 2005
Cross River University of Technology Cross River CRUTECH Ekpo-Abasi, Calabar State 2002
Delta State University, Abraka Delta DELSU Abraka State 1992
Ebonyi State University Ebonyi EBSU Abakaliki State 1996
Elizade University Ondo Ilara-Mokin Private 2012
Fountain University, Osogbo Osun FUO Osun Private 2007
Federal University, Dutsin-Ma Katsina FUDM Katsina Federal 2011
Federal University of Technology Akure Ondo FUTA Akura Federal 1981
Federal University Ndufe Alike, Ikwo Ikwo FUNAI Ikwo Federal 2011
Gregory University Abia Uturu Private 2012
Godfrey Okoye University Enugu GOU Enugu Private 2009
Igbinedion University Edo IUO Okada Private 1999
Oduduwa University Osun OUI Ipetumodu, Ile-Ife State 2009
Landmark University Kwara LU Omu-Aran Private 2011
Michael and Cecilia Ibru University Delta MCIU Agbara-Otor, Ughelli North Private 2015
Lagos State University Lagos LASU Ojo State 1983
Nigerian Turkish Nile University FCT NTNU Abuja Private 1998
Taraba State University Taraba Jalingo State 2011
University of Benin Edo UNIBEN Benin City Federal 1970
University of Calabar Cross River UNICAL Calabar Federal 1975
University of Ibadan Oyo UI Ibadan Federal 1948
University of Lagos Lagos UNILAG Lagos Federal 1962
University of Port Harcourt Rivers UNIPORT Port Harcourt Federal 1975
University of Nigeria, Nsukka Enugu UNN Enugu Federal 1955
Veritas University (Catholic University of Nigeria) Abuja Abuja VUNA Bwari Private 2007


Other Nigerian Universities include:

Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko

Awori District College of Education, Ota (private)

Caritas University, Enugu

City University, Yaba

Citygate University, Ibadan

Cross River University of Technology, Calabar

Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu

Federal Polytechnic, Birnin Kebbi

Federal University, Birnin Kebbi, Kebbi State

Federal University Gashua, Yobe State

Federal University Gusau, Zamfara State

Federal University of Dutse (FUD)

Federal University of Petroleum Resource Effurun

Federal University of Technology Minna

Federal University of Technology Owerri

Free University of Nigeria (FUN), Proposed online, first 100% tuition-free university in the world. (Lagos, Nigeria)

Gombe State University, Gombe

Ibrahim Babangida University, Lapai

Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Niger State, Lapai

Ignatius Ajuru University of Education (Rivers State University of Education), Port Harcourt

Imo State University, Owerri

Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji

Kaduna State University, Kaduna, Kaduna State

Kano State University of Science and Technology, Wudil

Kebbi State University of Technology Aliero

Kogi State University, Ayigba, Kogi State

Kwara State University, Malete, Kwara State

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso

Lagos Business School, Lagos

Lead City University, Ibadan

Madonna University (Ihiala), Okija

Michael Okpara Federal University of Agriculture, Umudike

Modibbo Adama University of Technology Yola

Moses Orimolade University, Omu-Aran

Michael and Cecilia Ibru University, Agbara-Otor, Ughelli North, Delta State

Nasarawa State University, Keffi

National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos

Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island, Bayelsa State

Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna

Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka

Northwest University, Kano

Novena University, Ogume, Delta State

Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife

Obong University, Obong Ntak, Akwa Ibom

Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu, Osun State

Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State

Ondo State University of Science and Technology, Okitipupa

Osun State University, Osogbo

Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos

Paul University, Awka Anambra

Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom State

Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Port Harcourt

Redeemer’s University, Off, Gbongan – Oshogbo Rd, Ede

Renaissance University, Agbani

Salem University, Lokoja Kogi State

Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa Edo State

Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu-Ode, Ogun State

Umaru Musa Yar’adua University, Katsina State

University of Abuja, Gwagwalada

University of Ado Ekiti, Ado Ekiti

University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Abeokuta

University of Agriculture, Makurdi, Makurdi, Benue State

University of Ibadan, Ibadan

University of Ilorin, Ilorin

University of Jos, Jos

University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri

University of Mkar, Mkar-Gboko, Benue State

University of Uyo, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State

The University on Idemili, Alor, Anambra State

Usman Dan Fodio University, Sokoto

Wesley University, Ondo

Western Delta University, Oghara, Delta State

Sule Lamido University, Kaffin Hausa, Jigawa State

For Courses offered by other Institutions, go to